Hard-to-find

I Love Baroque ‘n Roll

Put another dime in the jukebox, baby! Fleet Foxes are possibly the most talked about band of the moment. If you’re looking in the right places, they’re everywhere. Having made a big splash at this year’s SXSW, 6 Music has them on constant rotation, Mojo‘s just given them Album Of The Month and June sees them tour Europe. If you’re not looking in the right places, Fleet Foxes will no doubt find you anyway.

The band think of themselves as ‘not much of a rock band’. They describe their music as ‘baroque harmonic pop jams‘ and that’s as good a description as you’ll get. With a dash of Left Banke choral harmonies, a splash of Brian Wilson’s uplifting melancholia and a mash of retro-modernism a la Midlake, they manage to sound both like everything you’ve ever heard before and nothing you’ve ever heard before. While waiting for Sub Pop to release their debut album in America, they recorded the 5 track ‘Sun Giant’ ep to sell at gigs. You can track track this down to buy, if you look in all the right places. You can also get the album in 2 weeks time in the UK (£7.99 from Play). I’ve got my order in, but while waiting for it I thought I’d put my mp3 copies of these 2 releases onto CD. When I realised that I still had 20+ minutes to fill on my disc, I went poking about the internet to see if I could find anything else by my new favourite band…..

….and I found this 2006 self-titled 6 track ep.

She Got Dressed

In The Hot, Hot Rays

Anyone Who’s Anyone

Textbook Love

So Long To The Headstrong

Icicle Tusk

There’s very little information to be found anywhere about it. I don’t know if the current 5 piece line up plays on it. I don’t know if it was released anywhere. I don’t know if anyone bought it. I do know it’s fantastic. The influences mentioned above are very much to the fore. It sounds lovely. And added to the album and ‘Sun Giant’ ep it makes a nice wee Fleet Foxes CD (if you delete your least favourite track!) I won’t put the other 2 official releases up for grabs, but in the traditions of Plain Or Pan‘s hard-to-find only policy, these are all yours.

And don’t feel guilty about downloading the tracks either. Main Fox Skye’s world changed forever after downloading the Smile sessions bootleg. Maybe Fleet Foxes will change your world – that’s what he’s hoping for. See you down the front at the ABC on the 18th June. You coming Quinny?

***!!!***!!!UPDATE MARCH ’09. More Fleet Foxes stuff here!***!!!***

10 thoughts on “I Love Baroque ‘n Roll”

  1. I love these guys! Thanks for this. What’s the deal with this EP can you buy it anywere?

  2. Thank you for posting these tracks. I own Sun Giant and the new full-length (bought them from SubPop), but I couldn’t find any place to purchase these.

  3. God bless you for putting these tracks up. I’d found lyrics to these songs but had no idea where they were from. I shall add them to my Sun Giant/Ragged Wood CD!

  4. Thanks for the tracks! I’ve been looking everywhere for this — I only had She Got Dressed and it’s amazing. I doubt you should feel guilty for posting them either, since it’s impossible to buy it anywhere.

    You win.

  5. the links arent working… any way to get them working again?

    really excited to hear more fleet foxes!!!

Comments are closed.